You Are Here: Home » Football » AJ McCarron wins Alabama’s first Maxwell Award

AJ McCarron wins Alabama’s first Maxwell Award

IronBowl13_0054The Maxwell Award which dates back to 1937 and is named after Robert W. Maxwell is presented to the top college football player in the country.  The recipient is determined by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, and National Collegiate Athletic Association head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club. On Thursday evening in Orlando, FL at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show Alabama’s AJ McCarron became the first Crimson Tide player to win the honored award.

“This is an honor to be here,” said McCarron as he was presented the award. “This is awesome. I cannot thank my teammates enough. They made this all possible.”

McCarron, along with Jameis Winston of Florida State and Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M anxiously awaited the top award presentation of the evening.  Earlier, Winston was named the “Walter Camp Player of the Year” and the “Davey O’Brien Award” winner. With the Heisman Trophy front-runner already winning two awards, the look on McCarron’s face as his name was called making him the 77th Maxwell Award recipient was nothing short of stunned.  McCarron confirmed his shock to Chis Fowler when he said that he was “super surprised” to win the award.

Side note, the Walter Camp Foundation named McCarron to their first team All-American team ahead of Winston, their player of the year.


In his tenure at Alabama, McCarron has a 36-3 record, lead the Crimson Tide to two BCS National Championships (2011, 2012) while being a part of the third (2009), record breaking career passing yards (8,632 yards), total offense (8,625 yards) and career completions (667 passes).  He threw for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns in 2013, completing 67.6 percent (207-305) of his passes. McCarron ranks eighth nationally in passing efficiency (165.9) and 14th in completion percentage.

McCarron will be in New York this weekend as he is also a Heisman finalist and will join Winston and Manziel once again.  They will be joined by Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Boston College running back and Doak Walker Award winner Andre Johnson and Auburn running back Tre Mason.

Under head football coach Nick Saban, Alabama has produced the University’s first Heisman Trophy winner (Mark Ingram – 2009), Doak Walker Award winner (Trent Richardson – 2011), and the Maxwell Award winner (AJ McCarron -2013).

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 166

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

USA TODAY Sports Media Group

Scroll to top