You Are Here: Home » Football » Awards are starting to stack up for Alabama leaders

Awards are starting to stack up for Alabama leaders

0126The Crimson Tide’s football team has now finished up it’s regular season schedule. Tide fans are a little disappointed about how their regular season ended, however one thing they can celebrate is that some of the players were awarded for their play throughout the season. A.J. McCarron and C.J. Mosley both were leaders for the Tide on both sides of the ball. They were fantastic senior leaders and their awards certainly prove so.

With college football’s regular season now wrapped up, the beginning of college football awards are now here. This past Sunday night C.J. Mosley was named the winner of the Butkus Award. The Butkus Award is presented to the nation’s best linebacker. Mosley was presented the award by Dick Butkus himself at the team’s award banquet.

Mosley is the third Tide player to receive the honor. The last most recent Tide recipient was Rolando McClain in 2009. Mosley was also nominated for the Bronko Nagurski award, which is the nations top defensive player award. Mosley was beat out by Pittt’s Aaron Donald. Former Tide great ,Dee Milliner, was also a finalist last season. Mosley led the Tide with 102 tackles. He also added nine tackles for loss, five pass breakups and a forced fumble.

A.J. McCarron was awarded the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Unitas Golden Arm Award is given annually in the United States to the nation’s outstanding senior or fourth year quarterback in college football. McCarron beat out Georgia’s Aaron Murray, Clemson’s Tajh Boyd, Fresno State’s Derek Carr, and Northern Illinois’ Jordan Lynch. McCarron joins Jay Barker as the only Alabama recipients.

It was also announced that McCarron is now a finalist for the prestigious Heisman award. He now joins his former teammates Mark Ingram and Trent Richardson as finalist for the award. Mark Ingram was the first Crimson Tide winner in 2009. The recipient will be announced live Saturday night at 8 p.m. ET.

In McCarron’s three years as a starter, the Tide has gone 36-3 and won a pair of BCS championships. He’s eighth in the country in passing efficiency this season after finishing No. 1 in 2012, and has thrown just 15 interceptions and 75 touchdowns.UT_UA010_615x340

Tide fans are certain that these two players are deserving of every award they receive. Alabama has grown accustomed to seeing great players leave for the NFL however I’m sure they will be sad to see these two go. Tide fans are sure to be cheering AJ on Saturday night. Fans will be happy to know that they will be able to see them suit up one more time in the Alabama uniform.

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 18

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

USA TODAY Sports Media Group

Scroll to top