You Are Here: Home » Football » Nick Saban named Bobby Bowden Coach of the Year

Nick Saban named Bobby Bowden Coach of the Year

For the third time in four seasons not only has Alabama Head Coach Nick Saban won National Championships in that time-frame, but today he was named the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year, again.  The Over the Mountain Touchdown Club in Birmingham, AL announced Saban as the recipient of the Award.  The award has stayed in the state of Alabama for four straight years now with the only other person to win in that times span is Auburn’s Gene Chizik in 2010.

Nick Saban was named the winner over Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly, Kansas State’s Bill Snyder, Texas A&M’s Kevin Sumlin, and Ohio State’s Urban Meyer, all of whom were named finalists this month.

“I appreciate this honor from Coach Bowden and the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club and I’m happy to accept on behalf of our football program,” Saban said in statement released by the OTM Touchdown Club. “The coach of the year should really be a team of the year award for what our players, coaches and staff accomplished this season. This is a very special honor to me because it has Coach Bowden’s name on it.

The award will be presented to Saban on March 3rd at the Cahaba Grand Conference Center in Birmingham.

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 166

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

USA TODAY Sports Media Group

Scroll to top